What are you afraid of?

Many things.

Give me an example. Or a couple.

I’m afraid of hurting others, of never finding a career I truly enjoy. I’m scared my parents will never fully love me if I don’t become the person they want me to be. I’m afraid of becoming sick. I’m afraid of loved ones becoming sick.

That’s a shame.

Why do you say it in that tone?

You sound like you’re afraid you’ll never be good enough, that you’ll let the laws of reality govern you, in which case, when you live in fear, you surround yourself in what you manage to try so desperately to avoid.

But that’s what life is all about, living up to reality.

Elaborate on this thought. It sounds more to me like you’re trying to find a way to survive it.

Completing the Bachelor’s forks the path. One of which I can find a job or the other is which I go to graduate school.

Both of those paths converge to the same path.

I guess that’s the point.

Both don’t sound happy.

You can’t ask for that sort of luxury.

Why is that?

There’s bills to pay, food to place on the table, people to impress, structure to maintain, relationships to sustain.

And who has instilled this thought on you?

Society.

Who’s society?

The people.

Who’s the people?

Everybody around me.

Does society not include you?

It does.

So can you displace the thought onto society when you are in actuality part of this very thought?

Because they are the vast majority. I am just one person.

Peer pressure only works if you fall for it.

So you’re saying this is my own fault?

I wouldn’t say it with those words, with such a dismal accusation. It’s much lighter than that, much more hopeful than that. But for simplicity’s sake, yes. So now we are back to the beginning of the fork of the path again.

What are you implying?

We’ve made a full circle back to you – the idea of you, and the reality of you. Everything comes back to you. You created an image of the fork, yet you psyche yourself out with either option. Neither contributes to your well-being, the options just cancel out the anxiety that clouds your judgment. Instead of studying the path of the fork, why don’t you look at the broader picture? Why is there a fork to begin with, why and how do you view it this way?

Life is all about decisions.

Why are there only two that converge into one?

Isn’t that the way it’s supposed to be?

Nothing is supposed to drown you. Everything is supposed to free you.

Leave a Reply

