when ideologies meet reality

“I just never want this to change, but I know it will. Key Club is just so amazing. I can be completely myself. I can hug anyone I want. I can talk to anybody I want. I can yell at the top of my lungs. I can be anything. I would stay a senior forever if it meant I could go to Key Club events. And that’s the truth.”

“And then I started crying, a lot. Because it finally hit me that Key Leader was over and now I only have one more Key Club event before it’s all completely done – that meeting these people won’t happen anymore, that I won’t get to meet more Key Clubbers who will touch my heart eternally. And all I can say is that I am grateful for these families who have taught me the true value of trust.  I was telling people I loved them when I hardly knew them, but it didn’t make the words any less meaningful. They let me cry on their shoulder, but then I realized these are my favorite kind of tears – that sometimes saying goodbye is only the beginning. And it brings the kind of hope that I will carry with me to college.”

(march 2009)

Leave a Reply

