here’s to the end of senior year

(sorry about the grammar errors. i wrote this for ap literature, and we’re required to write something to read to the class, so grammar wasn’t an issue)

I couldn’t even get myself to sit down and write this, I guess it’s because I didn’t really know how to write this. There were so many things I wanted to say, and I didn’t know how to put it into so few lines. I’ve had this empty document titled: “My Final Key Club Words” and it has been on my computer saved for months, but most of the time I was trying to organize my thoughts into one whole piece. And now here it is.

I wish I could experience Key Club again; it has been a blessing to experience it the last two years with different groups of people from various parts of the world that I call my friends. It almost seemed as if every convention I went to was shorter than I imagined it would be. Time would fly by like no other. And that’s when I realized I will NEVER have these kinds of experiences with a new group of people like this ever again. No matter how great college will be, no matter what is in store for the future, I will never meet people who are so genuine in such a comforting environment. It wasn’t that I “took it for granted,” but I didn’t necessarily realize that these experiences only come once in a lifetime. Nothing will ever be just like this with the same feel – things can come close, but will never compare. These are experiences that I will never get to relive ever again, but that’s the beauty of everyone unique memory I have about Key Club.

I remember the first time I was at a Key Club meeting. Julie was doing the jiggalo. And I was so scared that I didn’t go back to meetings for weeks. And now, I’m the Key Clubber at leadership workshops that is enforcing others to try the game. It really is a great icebreaker. But I would never do it on school grounds, of course.

When one of people on the Southwest District Board asked me what my favorite memory of Key Club was, a bunch of memories instantly started flashing through my mind. Images of places, images of me rushing around, but mostly, images of people. And this is what I told him: “I have loved each and every Key Club experience. I have loved International Convention as much as I have loved Weekend of a Lifetime, and District Convention at El Paso this year was truly unforgettable. I loved hearing Austin Gutwein speak for Hoops of Hope and walking for March of Dimes. The legacy speeches at Weekend of a Lifetime even made me cry. But if I honestly had to choose one thing, it would be meeting everyone. I have made so many friends the past year from workshops, bunking with them, or simply just introducing myself.”

Key Club has truly been a great experience and I would relive it all over again if I could. I have met people from California to New York. They are all unique and they have touched my heart eternally. And even just the presence of Key Clubbers makes my world go round. There is no greater feeling than knowing International Key Club has raised $32,000 for March of Dimes and over $1,000,000 for UNICEF.

It’s even unreal as I type this, it’s finally all coming to an end, and that this chapter is really closed. I understand the rest of my senior year will be about closing chapters and beginning new ones, but unlike books, you can’t just go back and “re-live” it by reading it. You can only remember the people and the emotions and memories you shared with them.

I’m going to miss Key Club so much.

(march 2009)

Leave a Reply

