I believe in u-turns and I believe in healing bones. I believe in stuffed animals from childhood. I believe in lightly scented candles. I believe in hide and seek and I believe in sleeping in, a lot. I believe in cold mornings and I believe in broken jewelry. I believe in ripped tights and I believe in rainy days without an umbrella. I believe in commercials on the radio. I believe in rising tides and I believe in getting shampoo in your eyes. I believe in bad test scores and I believe in the hesitance to turn to the last page of a moving book. I believe in trust. I believe in consequences and I believe in the tooth fairy. I believe what your ex-lover said, and I believe the stories your mom says. I believe the words you don’t utter. I believe in singing off-pitch. I believe in Peter Pan and I believe in that one stain you can’t seem to get off. I believe I carry your heart with me. I believe in scoring goals. I believe in nostalgia and I believe in favorite movies. I believe in home-cooked meals and I believe in worn-out books. I believe in when you can’t fall asleep at night because it’s too hot. I believe in the mist on the mirror after a shower that just won’t disappear. I believe in missing work once in a while. I believe in traffic and I believe in weaving through it. I believe in untied shoelaces and I believe in papercuts. I believe in fruit-picking. I believe in tangled hair after a windy day that you can’t seem to brush. I believe in sailboats and I believe in chipmunks. I believe in photo albums and I believe in sidewalk pavement art. I believe in letters. I believe in squeaky doors and I believe in treating yourself to something slightly out of your price range. I believe in clean shoes and I believe in tea. I believe in gnomes. I believe in falling for someone who is absolutely terrible for you and I believe in being scared of the dark. I believe in missing someone, and I believe in overdrafted accounts. I believe in inconsistent cycles and I believe in rigid schedules. I believe in paranoia. I believe in racing against time. I believe in defense and I believe in breaking rules. I believe in the ability to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I believe in plush blankets and I believe in adrenaline. I believe in failure, lots of it. I believe in self-destruction. I believe in the flower that outlasts the harsh winter. I believe in blurry photos. I believe in beers and I believe in voicemails. I believe in endangered animals and I believe in writing while your pen is running out of ink. I believe in yelling and I believe in lint on a wool coat. I believe in digging through dirty laundry. I believe in sore feet. I believe in being late and I believe in saying no. I believe in fear and I believe in originality. I believe in that moment when you tip your chair so far back so you think you will fall. I believe in that same feeling when you slip over ice and struggle to hold your balance. I believe in heart-to-heart conversations. I believe in awkwardness. I believe in going against someone’s word. I believe maturity is how you handle situations and I believe the most mature people are the ones who have the most fun. I believe in speeding and I believe in insomnia. I believe in masked smiles and I believe in childhood friends. I believe in cheating death.

You ask me what I believe in, and I believe in you as much as I believe in me. I believe in me as much as I believe in strangers, and I believe in society as much as I believe in the best. I believe in the best as much as I do the worst. I believe what could be false, and I believe what could be devious. I believe in puzzles and I believe in solutions. I believe in beautifully told lies. I believe people behave the best they can. I believe we don’t ever truly accept love in our lives until we truly love ourselves. I believe in everything that makes us who we are. I believe, I believe, I believe. I hope, I hope, I hope.

2 comments
  1. Marvellous Post :) Here Here! Me tooooooooo … That seems like a good selection of life’s ‘stuff’ to believe in….Dawny :)

Leave a Reply

